There are so many signs that Texans with their License To Carry (LTC) must be on the lookout for while exercising their Constitutional rights. Most of us are all pretty familiar with the 30.06 and 30.07 signs as well as the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) signs. The only sign that LTC holders like to see is the TABC's "Unlicensed Possession" sign, because they know that they won't be either an unarmed victim or face Criminal Trespass charges if they have to defend themselves or others.
The other TABC sign that is known is the 51% sign. This sign is mandated by the State of Texas if a particular establishment makes 51% of their revenue from the on-site sale and consumption of alcohol. The owner of the establishment has zero say as to whether or not they can welcome armed LTC holders simply because of how they make their money. To be frank, it is a gross infringement on property rights, all in the name of "safety." The State takes this so seriously that getting caught in a 51% Establishment, even if you're not intoxicated, is a Third Degree Felony, which is punishable by up to a $10,000 fine and/or 10 years in prison, though there is a 2 year minimum sentence for this offense.
What makes this really asinine is that Texas Penal Code § 46.035(d) makes it a Class A misdemeanor ($4,000 fine and/or one year in jail) to carry while intoxicated, even if no other crime was committed. This means that it is by far a lesser offense to be caught carrying while intoxicated than it is to be caught eating lunch in a sports bar. The reason as to why is beyond me. People are perfectly capable of going out to bars without drinking. They are typically called designated drivers. Given the fact that intoxicated people can be unpredictable at times, would it not make sense to allow DD's to carry for protection? The Pulse Nightclub in Orlando would be considered a 51% Establishment by the State of Texas and was a gun free zone. We all know how that ended. Further, any woman who drives to the bar by herself to meet friends could become a target of sexual predators and disarming her only increases her odds of becoming a victim.
Then there are the other State-mandated gun free zones defined under Texas Penal Code § 46.03 and 46.035. These places, to my knowledge, do not legally require signage to be posted, however, LTC holders are required to disarm themselves before entering. The former section mandates gun free zones in schools and school functions, polling places during voting, courtrooms or court offices, racetracks, the secured area of an airport, or within 1,000 feet of a TDCJ place of execution on the date of execution. In addition to the 51% Establishments, § 46.035 also mandates that high school, collegiate, or professional sporting events, correctional facilities, hospitals or nursing facilities, amusement parks, places of worship, and government meetings also be gun free zones.
If the State of Texas has the authority to dictate where we as citizens can and cannot exercise our rights, then we do not have rights; we have privileges. Buildings that our tax dollars pay for should not have any restrictions for us to exercise our rights. Further, the State does not have the authority to dictate what a person does with his own private property, even if it is open to the public in the form of a business. This means that amusement parks, hospitals, churches, and bars should not be coerced into being gun free zones.
Politicians always push the fear mongering narrative any time gun rights come up. This is how they "justify" their authority to transform our rights into mere privileges. If Texas truly cares about our 2nd Amendment rights, then they wouldn't abridge them in any way, shape, or form. In addition to passing Constitutional Carry, Texas needs to eliminate all State-mandated gun free zones and return our rights to us in full. Sign the Constitutional Carry petition, Like us on Facebook, comment on our posts, and share all of it!